RSS
Image

A 3-D Telejector? A Repelatron Skyway?

12 Jun
Tom Swift, Jr. Books - a 50's kid's pure enjoyment

Tom Swift, Jr. book endpapers

As a kid from the 50’s, I was obsessed with Tom Swift books! With every effort available, I made my tiny bedroom look just like Tom’s scientific laboratory (picture above–book end papers). From the bubbling chemistry flasks, to the rolled up blueprints hanging over the counter, I could have been the great scientific inventor, Tom Swift, Jr.! I know I could have solved his mysteries, plus saved his futuristic creations from technology-stealing villains! If only I could have talked my mother into letting me leave Earth!

Originally created in 1910 by Edward Stratemeyer, all of the Swift books were penned by different writers under the pseudonyms, Victor Appleton or Victor Appleton II. To date, the last book was published in 2007. In total, there are six Tom Swift series; I mainly read the second series, the “Tom Swift, Jr.” books. 

So, what is a 3-D Telejector? Using light beams, Tom’s machine projects life-size, 3-D, solid pictures into space. Cool, huh? If you want to know what a Repelatron Skyway is, visit The Complete Tom Swift, Jr. Home Page. Fun fact: the modern invention, “TASER,” is an acronym for “Thomas A. Swift’s Electric Rifle” (1911 book). 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2013 in Books

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “A 3-D Telejector? A Repelatron Skyway?

  1. JF Owen

    August 9, 2013 at 6:32 pm

    I used to go to the bookstore every Saturday to see if a new volume had been published.

     
    • avmckee

      August 9, 2013 at 8:14 pm

      I too couldn’t wait to find a new one!

       

Leave a Reply

 
