RSS
Image

It is still reading.

15 Jul
It's still reading...

1948 London

As a kid who devoured Archie, Superman, and Classic Illustrated comics, I didn’t like it very much when adults criticized me for reading them. I’m joyful when any child reads, whether it be books or comics, instead of watching TV. It is still reading.

When my sister and I were young, my mother would bribe us with fresh new comics to keep us engaged while getting her hair done. I couldn’t wait to open up mine and magically be anywhere else but in that hair salon! It led to a lifetime of literature.

I’m so grateful to J.K. Rowling and her Harry Potter novels; novels that were responsible for more children, especially boys, discovering the rapture of reading. And, for those who say children could read better books than Harry Potter…just be thankful they are still reading. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 15, 2013 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
