RSS
Image

My 100th post done! I’ve finally found “Serenity”!

09 Aug
Captain Mal Reynolds

Captain Mal Reynolds (Nathan Fillion)

To celebrate this 100th post, I will revel like a good nerd should … I’ll sit back, whip off my browncoat, and ask my favorite TV cast from Firefly to join me.  

Disclaimer: to those who don’t know Firefly, I apologize for all the show-specific slang ahead.

"Wash" Washburne

“Wash” Washburne (Alan Tudyk)

First, thank you all for readin’ my Pastimes blog — more than once! You know who you are, I’m pointin’ right at ya! I couldn’t have kept bloggin’ along if it weren’t for you guys!

Jayne Cobb

Jayne Cobb (Adam Baldwin)

Writin’ can be dandy, but it can also be dreadful! Most of the time, I ask myself, “what am I thinkin’?” And, most of the time someone answers back, “you aren’t!”

Dr. Simon Tam

Dr. Simon Tam (Sean Maher)

Once, while lookin’ for a post idea, I was so ornery that I wished Dr. Tam could swap Badger’s brain for mine so I could smuggle other people’s posts into my blog. However, it would be just my luck and Tam would plop in the brain of a flesh-eatin’ Reaver! Yikes!

Zoe Washburne

Zoe Washburne (Gina Torres)

Every other mornin’, I would whine that I had writer’s block. I wanted to rabbit right back to my foxhole. But, I knew that joyless Jayne would find me and haul me right back, kickin’ and screamin’! 

Shepherd Book

Shepherd Book (Ron Glass)

Before my 50th post, I thought about givin’ up. I had a vision … someone was standin’ over me with wild, white hair. I heard chanting … “get the Shepherd, get the Shepherd!” 

River Tam

River Tam (Summer Glau)

After bein’ “saved” by the Shepherd, I dreamt that River sent me to my room for more rest and reflection. One can’t be too “shiny,” you know!

Kaylee Frye

Kaylee Frye (Jewel Staite)

On the way to my 75th post, I knew it was time for desperate measures; my essay engine needed rewirin’ fast. Could I channel ever-chipper, mechanical magician Kaylee to “get my bird in the air”?

Inara Serra & Kaylee Frye

Inara Serra (Morena Baccarin) & Kaylee Frye (Jewel Staite)

All was quiet now; my writin’ monster had been soothed once again. My 99th post was finished and here was my 100th! I think I’m ready for the next 100. Somewhere up in the sky, I hear a voice. Sounds like Joss whispering “Gohn Shi” (congratulations).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 9, 2013 in Movie, TV

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment