RSS
Image

What are you gonna read? I don’t know, what are you gonna read?

03 Jun

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I’m in the mood for reading a new book, different from any I’ve read before, I sometimes go hunting for a “book about books.” From a bookseller’s perspective, this is not a novel written with books as a story point, but instead a non-fiction book that describes, lists, or critiques other books. It could be purely a bibliography: a listing of an author’s works. It could refer to a particular category: mystery, gardening, film, etc. It could also just be about the simple love of books and reading. Whichever it is, a “book about books” can be a great reference; just the help I need to begin my new quest.

One of my favorite used bookstores, Magers & Quinn, has a section named “Books On Books,” as many used and new bookstores do. If your store doesn’t have one, you might try their “Reference” section. Another place to check is with your local library. Oh, and don’t forget to search online; you can use words like “bibliography,” “checklist,” or “book list.” Enjoy your book stalking!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 3, 2013 in Books

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment